top of page

Burning Down My Master's House Book Review


Burning Down My Master's House is about the Jayson Blair scandal at The New York Times. Jayson Blair got caught plagiarizing in 2003. The New York Times wrote a 14,000 word, 4-page story about the scandal. Their efforts failed; it brought up more questions then it answered. The article dragged his personal life into it (drug and alcohol use, Silver Hill).

The Daily News also wrote an article titled "Bad News Blair Saga at Times." The article had a quote saying Zuza no longer worked at The Times. Blair decided to give a quote saying, "I remain truly sorry for my lapses in journalistic integrity. I continue to struggle with recurring issues that have caused me great pain. I want to make clear that no Times employee assisted me in my deceptions."

The United State Attorney was considering pressing charges against Blair. He went to Silver Hill two times. One time for a drug and alcohol addiction. The other time because Blair attempted suicide. Blair realized he need help. Zuza stood by Blair and supported him the entire time he was dealing with the scandal he created. Zuza is Jayson's best friend.

Overall, the book was good. It told Blair's side of the story. If you heard about the Jayson Blair scandal and wanted to learn more, this book is for you.


bottom of page