top of page

Admirals have Experience and Steady Playing with Jordan Hill

​Jordan Hill is a twenty-six-year-old defenseman from Sarnia, Ontario, and is currently in a one-year contract with the Norfolk Admirals. He has played in Major Junior Hockey, which is one of the three major hockey leagues associated with the Canadian Hockey League. The players' ages range from sixteen to twenty. Hill has spent three seasons in the American Hockey League with St. Johns and Bridgepoint, and he is the most experienced player on the 2015-2016 Norfolk Admirals roster. He generously agreed to be interviewed. Here is how it went: Q: What would you like to do in Norfolk? Is it hard to adjust to a new setting? A: " I'm excited to check out the navy base here; it's pretty cool, especially seeing all the ships. That’s probably the first thing I'm going to do here. It's a little bit [hard to adjust], but at the same time, I travel a lot with hockey, so I get used to different cities." Q: What would you like to accomplish this season? What are your goals? A: "Just being a good team player is important. Obviously, as a team player, I am looking to make playoffs, you know? We want to make some noise here. It’s easy to look at as an individual, but at the same time, team success is just as important as individuals, so I'm doing well as a player by just playing my role, and the team will hopefully have success." Q: When did you start playing hockey? What is your favorite memory? A: "I was three years old, probably, when I was a kid going to the rink just having fun with the boys. You know, you're a young kid and you don’t know any better; hockey's still fun now, but when you're a kid, it’s a little different. You just go there to be with your friends and have fun. There's just too many to pick one, I guess." Q: What do you bring to the team? A: "I'm a pretty 'steady Eddy' kind of defense. I like to make a good first pass, block shots, and just compete every night." Q: Do you have a signature move? A: "In my skill set, probably not, but if I was going on goalie, a low block for sure." Q: What do you do during downtime? A: "I Just take care of the body. I like to hang out with the boys, but with this type of work you have to take care of yourself, so you have to eat right. Nutrition is a big part of it, going to the gym is secondary. Keeping your body in shape by going to get massages or anything that is going to get your body loose and ready for the next day to recover is important. So right now, that’s pretty much what I do." Q: From the time you have been able to spend with the team, what do you make of this group of guys and how well do you think they blend as a unit? A: "Pretty good, it seems that they are a pretty good bunch of guys. Everyone's very welcoming. I know as many guys that were coming from Bakersfield last year. They moved, but it's pretty close to the same core here, and everyone seemed like a good bunch of guys--just ready to play some hockey."


bottom of page