top of page

Steven Whitney, Left Wing, Is Ready to Skate to a Winning Season

Steven Whitney, 24, is a versatile, dedicated player who skated for the Norfolk Admirals during the 2013-2014 season. During Whitney's previous season with the Admirals, he had 13 goals and 27 points total out of 73 games. Q: Do you feel that you are more of a versatile player or attacker? A: Ideally, I'm versatile. I'm sure that what coach wants is for us to be able to play defense or forward. I like to attack but also to be responsible defensively. Q: How important is communication with the center and right wing on the ice? A: It's very important. You can't always see where they are on the ice. When they're talking or yelling at you, you can tell where they are even if you can't see them. Q: From the time you've spent with the team, what do you think of this year's group of guys? How have you guys gotten along so far? A: It's been great. I didn't know many guys before I got here, and everyone is really welcoming and friendly. They all seem great, and I've enjoyed myself. Q: Do you have a signature move? A: Not exactly. I just try to shoot as much as I can. Q: What skills do you feel you bring to the team? A: I try to bring energy, get in on the forecheck, and try to put pressure on the defense. Q: What would you like to accomplish this season with the Admirals? A: I just want to be a part of a winning team, and I feel we have enough guys to get that done if we come together as a group. Q: Do you have any hobbies when you're not playing hockey? A: When it's nice, I like to golf. Q: When did you start playing hockey? A: At age five or six. Q: Do you have a favorite hockey memory? A: Yes. I played four years at Boston College, and we won the National Championship.


bottom of page