top of page

Interview with Norfolk Admiral's Goalie Philippe Cadorette: Promising young goalie looks forward


As a new addition to the Norfolk Admirals' team, Canadian Goalie Philippe Cadorette looks to make a difference. Standing at 5’11”, 183 lbs, Cadorette is an average-sized goalie who offers above-average skills. After playing for Baie-Comeau Drakkar and garnering several awards such as 1st and 2nd All Star Team honors for the past two seasons, Cadorette is poised to be a key player for the Admirals this season. Q: When did you start playing hockey? A: I started playing when I was 5. Q: Have you played goalie all of your life? A: Yes, yes I have. Q: As a goalie, is there anyone at the position you look up to or model your game after? A: I look up to Carey Price. I try some of the things that he does sometimes because he is the best goalie in the NHL right now. Q: What, in your opinion, is one of the more difficult aspects of playing goalie? A: Playing three games in three nights is pretty difficult. You play sixty minutes every game, so it is hard to stay energized game after game. Q: Is it difficult to come to a new area and adjust to a new team? A: Not really. We go on the ice and we play. The game is the game, so it's not very hard. Q: During the game, how important is communication with your defensemen in front of you? A: It's really important, because they are in front of you. Sometimes we see some things that they don’t see, so we need to talk. Q: When you’re in the crease, do you have any issues with forwards blocking your view of the puck? A: Yes, especially on power plays. Sometimes on power plays, they’ll place attackers in front of me. I still have to do my best to see the puck. Q: Do you feel like you’re an asset to the team in clutch situations? A: Yeah,I feel like I’m a big asset. I need to stop the puck, and that’s what I do. So yes, I’m a big asset.


bottom of page